Welcome!

Hello, and welcome to the blog!

I’m Diane Smith, and this is my very first blog post! I’m the Membership Director for the Southern Ohio Flying K9s, and I play disc with my Sheltie, Holly. Holly is 10 years old, and she loves to play disc, as well as a variety of other dog sports. I’ve never written a blog before, but I feel like I have some things to say about disc, so I’m going to give it a try.

Our membership has a wide variety of skill levels in disc – we have novice people who are interested in getting started & teaching their dog how to play the sport, and we have people who play in the pro divisions and go to world finals each year. We even have a world champion! My goal for this blog is to provide content that appeals to players of all levels, so you will find posts geared to Novice, Intermediate, and Pro players. My hope is to collect insights from various players I meet as I travel to disc events, as well as garner information from our experienced members, and to post it here. I would love it if I could provide content that will help you improve your disc game!

We have formatted this blog to be exclusive to SOFK9s members for a couple of reasons. First, we want this to be a benefit of membership. We want you to feel like when you join our club, you’re getting some real value out of it. Second, we want to build a community here. Our members are spread throughout the state and beyond, so it’s often difficult to schedule a time to get together outside of the events we host. It’s especially difficult for our pro members who are often traveling out of state for various competitions. But we’re a club, and we all joined so we could get together with other people who share an interest in the sport of Disc Dog. Hopefully through this forum you will get to know the other club members, and we can have conversations about our sport that can continue when we’re able to get together in person.

Please communicate with me regarding this blog! If there are topics you want to see covered, let me know, and comment on any blog that moves you to do so. Let’s get started!

One thought on “Welcome!

Leave a Reply

